Stop Saying You’re Broken

Broken21

Not my image. Just getting the point across.

C.S. Lewis said that humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less.

I think we can all agree with that statement, and if you’re wondering how to be humble, here’s a fun WikiHow on it: http://www.wikihow.com/Be-Humble

A dear friend and I once wrote letters/notes to each other at the beginning of our friendship, in fact, before I even knew she would become a dear friend to me, we wrote each other notes of encouragement. (In context, we were out at a camp, and I was praying for her and to show that, myself and another person out at camp with me would write notes of encouragement and give her treats and the like. At first, she didn’t know who I was, it was all anonymous, but then I revealed myself to her, and we had some interesting letters from then on.) But one thing in those letters stuck out to me. A phrase she used to say how humbled she felt that God was using her as His instrument to help me to believe. She called herself “a poor broken sinner”. And to this day, it’s always bothered me, especially now that she’s a dear friend to me, and I love her like a sister.

I do not think anyone who reads this post would want any of our loved ones calling themselves broken. It’s just not something you hear from anyone who has good self-esteem or knows their worth. It contradicts that we were created perfectly, in God’s image and likeness and that He created us each as He wanted to. And where you might think it comes into play by the fact that we sin, you’re wrong, just because we sin, does not mean we are broken, it means that we’re human. When God sent Jesus to die for us/our sins, for our salvation, He was recognizing that we are going to sin, but He still loves us regardless of that fact, and no one who loves you wants you saying that you’re broken.

To recognize that we are sinners, we can say we’re sinners without having to say we’re broken. I sin, I make mistakes, but that does not mean that I am broken.

According to Google, the word broken has two definitions:

1. having been fractured or damaged and no longer in one piece or in working order.

2. (of a person) having given up all hope; despairing.

These definitions are not what we should be describing ourselves as. Calling ourselves broken means that we are devoid of hope, and that we are damaged and not in working order. This is not humility, or the path to humility.

Calling yourself broken is not being humble. Calling yourself broken is saying that you are in despair or you are damaged and you no longer work.

So let’s stop saying we’re broken, and instead say that we make mistakes, and when we make mistakes, we must admit that we are wrong and make amends.

You are not broken.

Leave a Reply

